IAPAL Directory

IAPAL Members OnlyClick here to send a message to all other directors and/or staff.

The International Association of Programs for Agricultural Leadership (IAPAL)is a consortium of leadership programs in the USA and several other countries.

Since Michigan pioneered the first statewide agricultural leadership program in 1965, forty States of the USA, and seven other countries have established similar programs, with more on the way.

Click here to read about the History of Ag Leadership Programs

THE BIRTH OF A REVOLUTION IN LEADERSHIP

Most IAPAL member programs have a two-year curriculum designed for up to 30 key leaders selected through application processes. IAPAL encourages emerging and established agricultural and rural leaders to consider applying for the next program offering. We also encourage corporations, small businesses, foundations, organizations and individuals dedicated to our cause to invest in the future by contributing financial support to the program(s) of your choice.

IAPAL CONTACTS

IAPAL – Dr. Joe Waldrum, Executive Secretary – IAPAL, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture, 2301 South University Avenue, P.O. Box 391,  Little Rock AR 72203 / Work Phone 501-671-2076  / Fax 501-671-2133 / Cell 501-944-1269 / jwaldrum@uaex.edu

ALABAMA – Dennis Evans  Director, Alabama Agriculture and Forestry LEADERS Program, Auburn University, 204 Duncan Hall-ACES, Auburn AL 36849-5635, Work Phone: 334-844-5552, Fax 334-844-7580 / evansda@auburn.edu

 ALBERTA – April Milne, Agri Industry Development Officer, Agriculture and Food Council of Alberta, 1101 5th Street  #402, Nisku AB CANADA T9E 7N3, Work Phone 855-469-3714 ext. 237 / april.milne@agfoodcouncil.com  / John Connolly, Executive Director /http://www.agfoodcouncil.com

ARIZONA – Monica Pastor, Director, Project CENTRL, University of Arizona Cooperative Extension Service, Maricopa County – Phoenix, 4341 E. Broadway Road, Phoenix AZ 85040-8807 / Work Phone 602-827-8200 x317 / Fax 602-827-8292 / mpastor@cals.arizona.edu/http://www.centrl.org/  Karen Vanderheyden, Program Coordinator, Project CENTRL, University of Arizona (Partner), 820 E. Cottonwood Lane, Bldg. C, Casa Grande AZ 85122 / Work Phone 520-316-0909 / Fax 520-836-1750 / Cell 520-560-2112 /kvander@ag.arizona.edu  / www.centrl.org

 ARKANSAS – Joe Waldrum, Director, LeadAR Program,University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture, 2301 South University Avenue, P.O. Box 391, Little Rock AR 72203 / Work Phone 501-671-2076  / Fax 501-671-2133 / Cell 501-944-1269 / jwaldrum@uaex.edu www.uaex.edu/leadar  / Krishna Ellington, Leadership Programs Coordinator, LeadAR Program / Cell 501-912-6771 / kellington@uaex.edu  / www.uaex.edu/leadar

AUSTRALIA – Lesley Fitzpatrick, CEO, Australian Rural Leadership Foundation, DEAKIN WEST ACT,  P.O. Box 298 AUSTRALIA 2600 / Work Phone 02-6281-0680 / Fax 02-6285-4676 / lesleyf@RURAL-LEADERS.COM.AU / www.rural-leaders.com.au

 CALIFORNIA – Bob Gray, President and CEO, California Agricultural Leadership Foundation, PO Box 479, Salinas CA 93902-0479 / Work Phone 831-585-1030 / Fax 831-424-4107 / Bob.gray@agleaders.org  / www.agleaders.org  / Charlie Crabb, Program Coordinator / Cell 805-704-4513/ ccrabb@agleaders.org / www.agleaders.org / Judy Sparacino, Program Coordinator / jsparacino@agleaders.org / www.agleaders.org / Michael Thomas, Director of Education, Department of Animal Science and Ag Education, California State University,  Fresno, 2415 East San Ramon Avenue M/S AS75, Fresno  CA 93740 / Work Phone 559-278-4288 / Cell 559-312-3098/ mthomas@agleaders.org / www.agleaders.org

COLORADO – Angie Cue, Executive Director, Colorado Agricultural Leadership Program (CALP) 9177 East Mineral Circle, Centennial CO 80112 / Work Phone 303-547-5963 /angie@coloagleaders.org / http://coloagleaders.org

 DELAWARE – Bill McGowan, Co-Director, LEAD Delaware Program, University of Delaware 16683 County Seat Highway,  Carvel Research and Education Center, Georgetown DE 19947 / Work Phone 302- 856-7303 / Fax 302-338-8096 / billmcg@udel.edu  /  Tom W. Ilvento, Co-Director, LEAD Delaware Program, University of Delaware, 213 Townsend Hall, Newark DE 19717 / Work Phone 302-831-6773 / Fax 302-831-6243 / Cell 302-388-0971 /ilvento@udel.edu  / http://ag.udel.edu/frec/lead/apply.htm  / Laurie G. Wolinski, Co-Director / Work Phone 302- 831-2538 / Fax 302-338-8096 / lgw@udel.edu /http://ag.udel.edu/frec/lead/apply.htm

 FLORIDA – Hannah  S. Carter, Director, Wedgworth Leadership Institute for Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of Florida, 126A Bryant Hall, P.O. Box 112060, Gainesville FL 32611-2060 / Work Phone 352-392-1038 / Fax 352-392-0589 / hscarter@ufl.edu / /http://wedgworthleadership.com// / Kevan Lamm, Program Coordinator / kevanlamm@ufl.edu

 GEORGIA – Rochelle Strickland, Director, Advancing Georgia’s Leaders in Agriculture and Forestry (AGL), University of Georgia, 2360 Rainwater Road, Tifton GA 31793 / Work Phone 229-386-3116 / rstrick@uga.edu / Kristi Farner, Assistant Director, Work Phone 706-542-7753 / kfarner@uga.edu / www.agl.caes.uga.edu

 HAWAII – Kim Coffee-Isaak, Executive Director, Agricultural Leadership Foundation of Hawaii, P. O. Box 23107, Honolulu  HI 96823-3107 / Work Phone (808) 947-2914 / Fax 808-947-2914 / Cell  808-292-1512 / office@agleaderhi.org  / Pauline Sato, Program Director, Work Phone 808-497-5323 / Pauline.sato@gmail.com / www.agleaderhi.org

 IDAHO – Rick Waitley, Executive Director, Leadership Idaho Agriculture (LIA) Leadership –  Idaho Agriculture Foundation, 55 SW 5th Avenue  #100, Meridian ID 83642 / Work Phone 208-888-0988 / Fax 208-888-4586 / rick@amgidaho.com / www.leadershipidahoag.org

 ILLINOIS – Don Norton, President & CEO, Illinois Agricultural Leadership Foundation, 100 South Campbell, P.O. Box 160, Macomb IL 61455-0160 / Work Phone 309-837-7711/ Fax 309-836-2259 / Cell 309-259-0047 / don@agleadership.org / Debi Thurow, Development Director, Cell 309-313-3637 / debi@agleadership.org / Alison Myers, Program Director/ Cell 319-331-0391 / alison@agleadership.org/ www.agleadership.org

 INDIANA – Beth Archer, Executive Director, Indiana Agricultural Leadership Program- AgrIInstitute, 72 1/2 West Main Street, Danville IN 46122 / Work Phone 317-745-0947 / Fax 317-745-0956 / Cell 317-408-3843 / beth@agriinstitute.org / www.agriinstitute.org

 IOWA –Alyssa Smola, Leadership Training Manager – Iowa Corn,  5505 NW 88th St, Johnston, IA 50109 / Ph. 515.225.9242, asmola@iowacorn.org  /www.iowacorn.org

KANSAS – Al Davis, President and Program Director, Kansas Agriculture and Rural Leadership, Inc. (KARL Program) – Kansas State University (Partner), 101 Umberger Hall,   Manhattan KS 66506-3405 / Work Phone 785-532-6300 / Fax 785-532-7036 /karl@ksu.edu  / advis@ksu.edu / Jack W. Lindquist, KARL Graduate Program Director /jack@ksu.edu / www.karlprogram.com /

KENTUCKY – Will Snell, Co-Director, Kentucky Agricultural Leadership Program (KALP) University of Kentucky, 315 Charles E. Barnhart Building, Lexington, KY, 40546-0276 / Work Phone 859-257-7288 / Fax 859-257-7290 / wsnell@uky.edu  / Steve Isaacs, Co-Director, Work Phone 859-257-7255 / sisaacs@uky.edu / www.uky.edu/Ag/KALP/welcome.html

 LOUISIANA – Bobby Soileau, Director, Agricultural Leadership Development Program, Louisiana State University Ag Center, 102 J. Norman Efferson Hall, 110 LSU Union Square , Baton Rouge LA 70803-0106 /  Work Phone 225-578-3659 / Fax 225-578-4225 / Cell 225-620-8293 / bsoileau@agcenter.lsu.edu /www.lsuagcenter.com/en/community/leadership/ag_leadership

 MARYLAND – Susan R. Harrison, Executive Director, LEAD Maryland Foundation, Inc., University of Maryland Extension, 124 Wye Narrows Drive, P.O. Box 169, Queenstown  MD 21658 / Work Phone 410-827-8056 Ext. 136      / Fax 410-827-9039 / Cell 410-703-1094,/leadmd@umd.edu / Debbie Stanley, Program Director, LEAD Maryland Foundation, Inc. / Cell 410-443-4867 / debstan@umd.edu / www.leadmaryland.org

 MEXICO – Ricardo Celma, Executive Director, MALP (Mexican Agriculture Leadership  Program) Leibnitz 204 P.A. Colonia Anzures,  Delegación Miguel Hidalgo. Mexico City, Mexico City Mexico 11590 / Work Phone 52 55 55525656 / Cell 52 5554023903/ri_celma@yahoo.com.mx/  Eduardo Christensen, Operations Director, Ezequiel Montes 142 – 4 Colonia Centro. Tequisquiapán, Querétaro – Querétaro Mexico  76750 / Work Phone 52 414 2731479 / Cell  52 4142196754 / eduardo.christensen@gmail.com / www.malpmexico.org

 MICHIGAN  – Vicki Pontz, Director, Great Lakes Leadership Academy, Michigan State University, College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, 466 West Circle Drive  Room 109 Agriculture Hall, East Lansing MI 48824-1039 / Work Phone 517-432-8685 / Fax 517-353-5406 / Cell 517-643-2295 / pontzv@msu.edu / www.glla.msu.edu

MINNESOTA – Dan Hoffman, Executive Director, Minnesota Agriculture and Rural Leadership Program (MARL)            ; Southwest Minnesota State University, 1501 State Street, Marshall, MN  56258 / Work Phone 507-521-7167 / Fax 507-537-7145 / Cell 507-421-7167 / Dan.Hoffman@smsu.edu / Mike Liepold, Program Leader,            1961 Premier Drive  Suite 110, Mankato MN 56001-5901 / Work Phone 507-389-6741 / Fax 507-389-6787 /mliepold@umn.edu / www.MARLprogram.org

MISSISSIPPI - Laura Lemons,  Assistant Professor,  Agricultural Information Science- Ag Leadership / Mississippi State University /Box 9745 /Mississippi State University, MS 39762 / ph. 662-325-1804 / e-mail: llemons@humansci.msstate.edu / http://www.humansci.msstate.edu/associate.asp?id=173

MISSOURI -  Kristin Perry, Executive Director, Agricultural Leadership of Tomorrow (ALOT) P.O. Box 418, Bowling Green MO 63334 / Work Phone 573-324-6538 / Fax 573-324-5558/ Cell 573-795-0701/ alot@onemain.com /           www.alotmissouri.com

 MONTANA – Janelle Booth, Director, REAL Montana (Resource Education and Agriculture Leadership) Montana State University –Extension, Culbertson Hall, PO Box 170535, Bozeman MT 59717-0535 / Work Phone 406-994-6480 / Fax    406-994-1905  / Cell 605-695-6589 /janelle.booth@montana.edu / www.realmontana.org

NEBRASKA – Terry Hejny, Executive Director, Nebraska LEAD Program, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 318 Bio Chem, Lincoln NE 68583-0763 / Work Phone 402-472-6810    / Fax 402-472-6799 / thejny1@unl.edu / http://lead.unl.edu

NEVADA – Carl Dahlen, State Leadership Specialist (No program in place) University of Nevada-Reno Cooperative Extension Service, Douglas County Office, P.O. Box 338, Minden NV 89423-0338 / Work Phone 775-230-0075 / Fax 775-783-9624/ dahlenc@unce.unr.edu

NEW BRUNSWICK – Monique McTiernan, Executive Director, Atlantic Agricultural Leadership Program, 925 Coverdale Road, Riverview, NB  CANADA E1B 5E6 / Work Phone 506-204-5976 / aalp@rogers.com / www.agleaders.ca

NEW JERSEY – Christine Lipsack, Program Director, New Jersey Agricultural Leadership Development Program, Burlington County College, Whitesbog Village, 120-13 Whitesbog Road,  Browns Mills NJ 8015 / Work Phone 609-893-1765 / Fax 609-893-6417 / Cell 609-234-4769 / CLipsack@bcc.edu / http://www.njagsociety.org/nj-agricultural-leadership-development-program.html

 NEW MEXICO – Claudia Trueblood, Program Coordinator, New Mexico Agricultural Leadership Program, New Mexico State University Department of Agricultural and Extension Education, MSC 3501, Box 30003,  Las Cruces NM 88003-8003 / Work Phone 575-646-6691/ Fax 575-646-4082 /nmal@nmsu.edu / http://aces.nmsu.edu/nmal

 NEW YORK – Larry Van De Valk, Executive Director, LEAD New York Program, Cornell University, Academic Surge B-182, 220 Tower Road, Ithaca NY 14853 / Work Phone 607-255-7907 / Fax 607-254-2896 / Cell 607-220-6155 / ljv4@cornell.edu / Sarah Basil, Administrative Assistant, LEAD New York Program, Cornell University, Academic Surge B-182  220 Tower Road,  Ithaca  NY 14853 / Work Phone 607-255-7907  /  Fax 607-254-2896 / sb255@cornell.edu / www.leadny.org

NEW ZEALAND – Patrick Aldwell, Academic Director, Dean of Commerce, New Zealand  Kellogg Rural Leaders Programme, Lincoln University, Commerce Building P.O. Box 84, Lincoln University 7647, Christchurch NEW ZEALAND / Work Phone 6433253860/ Fax 6433253847 /   Patrick.aldwell@lincoln.ac.nz / www.lincoln.ac.nz/krlp

NORTH CAROLINA – Bill Collins, Senior Director of Development, Agricultural Leadership Development Program, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Department of Crop Science, North Carolina State University, 512 Brickhaven Drive, Box 7645       Raleigh NC 27695 / Work Phone       919-513-2944  / Fax 919-515-5274 / bill_collins@ncsu.edu /http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/CALDP  /Blake Brown, Agricultural Leadership Development Program, Agricultural & Resource Economics, North Carolina State University,  600 Laureate Way, Kannapolis NC  28081 / Work Phone 704-250-5404 / abbrown@ncsu.edu

 NORTH DAKOTA – Marie Hvidsten, Program Director, Rural Leadership North Dakota (RLND) North Dakota State University, NDSU Extension Service, Dept. 7390 PO Box 6050, Fargo ND 58108 / Work Phone 701-231-5640 / Fax            701-231-8378  /marie.hvidsten@ndsu.edu / Cindy Selstedt, Program Coordinator, Work Phone 701-231-5803 / cynthia.selstedt@ndsu.edu/ www.ag.ndsu.edu/rlnd

 OHIO  – Sandy Kuhn, Director, Commodity Relations and AgriPOWER, Ohio Farm Bureau , 280 North High Street  Fl 6,     P.O. Box 182383, Columbus  OH 43218-2383/ Work Phone 614-246-8249 / Fax 614-246-8649 / Cell 614-203-9524 / skuhn@ofbf.org / http://ofbf.org/get-involved/agripower

 OKLAHOMA – Edmond L. Bonjour, Director, Oklahoma Agricultural Leadership Program, Oklahoma State University, 127 Noble Research Center, Stillwater, OK 74078-3033 / Work Phone 405-744-8134 / Fax 405-744-9305 / Cell 405-612-0210 / edmond.bonjour@okstate.edu/http://oalp.okstate.edu

 ONTARIO – Rob Black, Chief Executive Officer, Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program (AALP) Rural Ontario Institute, 5653 Highway #6 North,  RR#5, Guelph ON  CANADA N1H 6J2 / Work Phone 519-826-4204 / Fax 519-826-4208 / Cell 519-823-3545 /rblack@ruralontarioinstitute.ca / www.aalp.on.ca/index.aspx

 PENNSYLVANIA – J. D. Dunbar, Chief Executive Officer, The Pennsylvania Rural-Urban Leadership Program  (RULE) The Pennsylvania State University, 113 Ferguson Building, University Park PA 16802 / Work Phone 814-863-4679 / Cell 814-880-1135 / 1jd@psu.edu/www.rule.psu.edu,

 SCOTLAND – Julian Pace, Director Rural Operations, Rural Leadership Programme,  Scottish Enterprise  Bridge Street, Galashiels  SCOTLAND  UK TD1 1SW / Work Phone  01896 758991/ Fax 01896 758625 / julian.pace@scotent.co.uk / www.scottish-enterprise.com

 SOUTH CAROLINA – Ben Boyles, Director, SC LEADS, Clemson University Extension Service, 120 North Congress Street, York SC 29745 / Work Phone  803-981-3021  /boyles2@clemson.edu / www.clemson.edu/scleads

 SOUTH DAKOTA – Lori Cope, Executive Director, South Dakota Agricultural and Rural Leadership, Inc. (SDARL) – South Dakota State University, 1905 N Plaza Boulevard, Rapid City SD 57701-9302 / Work Phone (605) 216-6178 / Cell 605-216-6178/lori.cope@sdstate.edu / Dan Gee, Alumni Director, (SDARL) Department of Animal and Range Science, P.O. Box 2170, Brookings SD  57007-0392 / Work Phone 605-651-0873 / Fax 605-688-6170 / dan.gee@sdstate.edu / www.sdarl.org

 TENNESSEE (Middle) – Eddie Clark, Regional Field Service Director,  TN Farm Bureau Federation, AgriLeadership 20/20, Tennessee Tech University, 900 S. Walnut Avenue Room 1 Cookeville  TN  38501 /Work Phone 931-528-6472   / Fax 931-520-0380 /eclark@TFBF.COM

 TENNESSEE (East) – Ryan King, Regional Field Service Director   TN Farm Bureau Federation, AgLEAD, University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture, 9737 Cogdill Road  Ste.152 C Knoxville TN 37932 / Work Phone 865-671-3830 Ext. 5 / TNAglead@gmail.com/http://aee.tennessee.edu/aglead.html

 TENNESSEE (TSU) – John Hall, Extension Assistant Professor of Agricultural Leadership (No program in place) Tennessee State University / Work Phone 615-963-5139 /jhall33@tnstate.edu

 TEXAS – Jim Mazurkiewicz, Leadership Program Director and Professor  Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership (TALL)  Texas A&M University System – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, 600 John Kimbrough Blvd, Suite 518, 2137 TAMU, College Station TX 77843 / Work Phone 979-845-1554 / Fax 979-862-1516 / Cell 979-229-8855 / j-mazurkiewicz@tamu.edu /http://tall.tamu.edu

 VIRGINIA – Megan Seibel, Director, Virginia Agriculture Leaders Obtaining Results (VALOR) Virginia Tech University,      Department of Agricultural and Extension Education, 264 Litton Reaves (0343)    Blacksburg VA 24061  / Work Phone 540-231-2375 / Fax 540- 231-3824/ Cell 540-315-2249 / mseibel@vt.edu  / www.valor.aee.vt.edu

 WASHINGTON – David Roseleip, President, Washington Agriculture and Forestry Leadership Program, 9211 East Mission, Suite J, Spokane Valley WA 99206 / Work Phone 509-926-9113/ Fax 509-926-6993 / daver@agforestry.org / Deborah Moore, Vice President and Program Director, Work Phone 509-793-5222 / Fax 509-926-6993 /Deborah@agforestry.org   /  www.agforestry.org

 WEST VIRGINIA – Tony Michael, Program Leader (Interim Leadership contact) Community Resources and Economic Development (No program) West Virginia University      Room 709 Knapp Hall PO Box 6031,  Morgantown WV 26506-6031 / Work Phone 304-293-8685 / tony.michael@mail.wvu.edu

WISCONSIN – Sarah Schlosser, Executive Director, Leadership Wisconsin, University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension, 610 Langdon Street  Room 331, Madison WI 53703 / Work Phone (608) 263-5024 / Fax 608-262-4231 /  sarah.schlosser@ces.uwex.edu/  Kim Clist, Program Coordinator, Work Phone 608-263-0817 / Kimberly.clist@ces.uwex.edu /www.LeadershipWisconsin.org

WYOMING – Cindy Garretson-Weibel, Program Director, Wyoming L.E.A.D., Wyoming Business Council, 214 West 15th Street,  Cheyenne  WY 82002 / Work Phone 307-777-6589/ Fax 307-777-2838 / cindy.weibel@wyo.gov / Terry Barr, Marketing Specialist, Program Coordinator / terri.barr@wyo.gov / www.wylead.org

IAPAL ANNUAL CONFERENCE LOCATIONS
  • 1987 Petit Jean Mountain, Arkansas
  • 1988 Mesa, Arizona
  • 1989 Point Clear, Alabama
  • 1990 Spokane, Washington
  • 1991 Goat Island, Rhode Island
  • 1992 San Antonio, Texas
  • 1993 Guanajuato/Guadalajara, Mexico
  • 1994 Nebraska City, Nebraska
  • 1995 Branson, Missouri
  • 1996 Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • 1997 Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 1998 Hershey, Pennsylvania
  • 1999 Little Rock, Arkansas
  • 2000 San Luis Obispo, California
  • 2001 French Lick, Indiana
  • 2002 Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • 2003 Honolulu,Hawaii
  • 2004 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • 2005 Granville, Ohio
  • 2006 Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • 2007 Miami, Florida
  • 2008 Guelph, Ontario
  • 2009 Jackson Hole, Wyoming
  • 2010 Scotland
  • 2011 Chicago, Illinois
  • 2012 Canandaigua, New York
  • 2013 New Orleans, LA (October 14-17)
  • 2014 – Kentucky (October 22-24)
  • 2015 – North Dakota
  • 2016 – Pennsylvania
  • 2017 – Florida and Georgia to co-host
  • 2018 – KANSAS